The customer groups allow you to define whether the prices in the store are displayed net or gross.
The "standard customer group" is used as a fallback for all sales channels. If the "standard customer group" is deleted, the frontend is no longer accessible.
You can't create a new customer group and name it "standard customer group" because it has a fixed UUID in the database.
You can find out how to restore them with a query here.
You will find the menu item Customer groups under Settings. Here you can create and edit the customer groups in which the customers are divided.
For example, prices for different customer groups can be displayed in gross or net.
In the following overview you will find all existing customer groups and the corresponding tax displays.
With the button Create customer group(1) you can create a completely new customer group. You can edit existing customer groups by clicking on the name (2) or via the context menu (4).
In the list settings (3) you can adjust the order of the information, but also hide individual columns. You can also use the compact mode, which summarizes the list to the most important information.
You can also hide a column directly via the context menu (5) next to the column name.
Click the button Create customer group to create a completely new customer group.
In addition to the name of the customer group, you can specify which tax representation (1) (gross or net prices) should be used in the shop for the customers of the customer group.
You can also specify whether a separate registration form (2) should be used for the customer group. This allows the customer to register directly for a specific customer group. The customer is not directly assigned to the customer group, an activation is required.
Alternatively, the Customer is assigned to the standard Customer Group of the sales channel. For more information, please refer to the next section Customer Group Registration.
If you activate the registration form for the customer group, further configuration options will appear.
Besides the name (1) you can optionally add an additional introductory text (2). The introductory text can, for example, contain information on the customer group for which the customer can register here. This information is displayed on the registration form directly below the title.
You can display additional input fields for the registration of corporate customers by activating the option Only companies can register (3). In this case, the customer can also enter company, department and VAT ID. These entries are optional.
You can also enter an SEO meta-description (4) for the form.
In order to call up the form, it is given its own URL.
To do this, it is first necessary to allocate the form to at least one sales channel (1).
If you now save the form, a technical URL and a separate URL for each sales channel will be created.
The technical URL (2) can be used for user-defined links within the category module and is then automatically replaced with the corresponding sales channel URL.
The form can be accessed directly via the sales channel URL (3). This can be used e.g. for links on external pages.
If a complete URL for a sales channel cannot be created for a language, please check in the settings of the sales channel whether the language has been added to it and a domain for the language exists.
The title (1) stored in the configuration of the form and the optional introductory text (2) are displayed above the form fields.
After a customer has registered for a customer group via the registration form, the customer is not directly assigned to the customer group. The customer is initially in the standard customer group of the sales channel and is provided with a corresponding note (1) in the customer overview.
You can then carry out further administration in the customer details. You can access the details by clicking on the customer name or the "..." menu at the end of the line.
For customers who have made a request for a customer group, the administration function is displayed above the navigation tabs, which you can use to reject (1) or accept (2) the customer for the customer group. The customer will then receive an info by e-mail. For this purpose, the e-mail templates of the type customer group change rejected or customer group change accepted are used.
As long as no selection has been made, the customer is assigned to the standard customer group (3).