Zettle by PayPal (Cloud)

Zettle by PayPal is a service that allows you to accept card payments anywhere using a chip card reader for smartphones and tablets and a dedicated app.

The Zettle by PayPal integration is part of the PayPal extension. It offers you the ability to sell your products through the Zettle interface in the form of an additional sales channel. These products can then be offered on site, for example in a retail outlet.
You can find more information about the service here.

Installation

Zettle is not a separate extension, but part of PayPal and therefore does not need to be installed separately. You can find out how to install PayPal here

Setup

To be able to synchronise your products with Zettle, you need a new sales channel. When you create a new sales channel, you will now also have the Zettle sales channel at your disposal. As soon as you have created this, you will be guided step by step through the setup process of the Zettle interface by the setup wizard.

Account setup

In the first step, it is necessary to establish a connection to an existing Zettle account. If you do not yet have a Zettle account, you can create one in this step or directly here.

Connectoin

After establishing a connection between Shopware and your Zettle account in the first step. The account you are using will be displayed here again for confirmation. Should you have several Zettle accounts and have selected the wrong one here, you can disconnect the connection again in this window and thus return to the first step.
If it is the right account, simply click on Continue.

User defined settings

In the user defined settings you specify a name for the sales channel in your Shopware environment.
You also select the language of the sales channel here.

Product selection

In this step, you enter the sales channel from which you want to transfer the products to the Zettle sales channel.

Product synchronisation

In the product synchronisation step, you specify what should happen to the products that were previously in the Zettle product library.

If you select the option use only Shopware products (1) here, all existing products stored in Zettle will be replaced by the products from Shopware during synchronisation.
With the option replace Zettle library (2) you ensure that all products currently stored in the Zettle account are removed. Then only the products from Shopware are added.
If you select add Shopware products (3), the products previously saved in Zettle will remain. The products from Shopware are added to these products.

Price synchronisation

Here you specify how you want to synchronise the prices for your products to Zettle.

On the one hand, you have the option to synchronise prices with VAT. This option transfers the gross prices to Zettle, including VAT.

On the other hand, the option don't synchronise proces is available to you. This option does not transfer the prices to Zettle. You can adjust the prices in the Zettle product library after synchronisation.

Configuration

After successfully setting up the Zettle interface, you can open it at any time and configure it subsequently. To do this, open the Zettle sales channel you have created in the sales channels area.

Account

The account section gives you access to all information from your Zettle account at any time.

You can access your Zettle account at any time using the account link (1) to manage it. On the right side (2) you will find the current status as well as an indication of when the products were last synchronised.

Overview

In the overview tab you will find all the information about the synchronisation of the products.

In the synchronisation (1) section you can see the information about the last synchronisation. You can see whether the last synchronisation was successful, when the last synchronisation took place and when the last complete synchronisation took place. You can perform a complete synchronisation directly using the synchronise now (2 & 3) buttons. 
Next to the synchronise now (2) button, you can use the button with the arrow (4) to synchronise only the images, the stock or the product details.

Synchronised products

In this tab you have an overview of which products are currently being synchronised using the Zettle interface.

Next to each product in the list you can see whether (1) and at what time (2) it was updated. 
The context menu (3) next to each product takes you directly to the product configuration to make adjustments to the respective product. 

Settings

All the settings you made while setting up the Zettle interface can be changed later in this tab.

General


Name (1): This is the name of the Zettle sales channel in the Shopware administration.
Active (2): With this switch you activate and deactivate the Zettle sales channel. If the sales channel is deactivated, there are no more synchronisations between the Zettle account and Shopware.
Language (3): Here you select the language of your Zettle sales channel.

Synchronisation

If you select the option use only Shopware products (1), all existing products stored in Zettle will be replaced by Shopware products during synchronisation.
With the option replace Zettle library (2) you ensure that all products currently stored in the Zettle account are removed. Then only the products from Shopware are added.
If you select add Shopware products (3), the products previously saved in Zettle will remain. The products from Shopware are added to these products.

Prices

With the option synchronise prices with VAT (1), the gross prices are transferred to Zettle, including VAT.

With the option don't synchronise prices (2), the prices are not transferred to Zettle. You can adjust the prices in the Zettle product library after synchronisation.

Options

Under the Options menu, you can reset the synchronisation with the help of the reset synchronisation (1) button. All synchronised products are marked as unsynchronised. This means that all products will be completely resynchronised during the next synchronisation. Please note that the next synchronisation may take considerably longer than usual, depending on the number of products.

If you delete the sales channel (2), it will be irrevocably removed. The sales channel will then no longer be available in the Shopware administration and cannot be restored. However, all existing orders will be retained. Played out catalogues will also not be altered by this acton. The connection to Shopware will be terminated and no further synchronisation will take place.

Logs

In the log you can see all past synchronisations with the status (1) and the date (2). If the status was not successful, you can read out the exact error message using the context menu (3), why the synchronisation was not successful.
The button clean up log (4) allows you to delete the entire list.

Was this article helpful?